## A Manitoba Hydro

2023 12 21

Ms. Agnes Wittmann Director, Environmental Approvals Branch Manitoba Environment and Climate Change EABDirector@gov.mb.ca

Dear Ms. Wittmann:

## POINTE DU BOIS GENERATING STATION - SHORT-TERM EXTENSION LICENCE

We request renewal of the Short-Term Extension Licence (STEL) for the Pointe du Bois Generating Station under the provisions of Section 92(6) of Water Power Regulation 25/88R. We request that the STEL be renewed for an additional five-year term. The third STEL was issued for a three-year term covering the period from January 1, 2022 to January 1, 2025. The supporting documentation provided at that time is still valid.

Manitoba Hydro requested a Fifth Renewal Licence on September 12, 2017. Manitoba Hydro intends to submit the technical requirements for completing the Fifth Renewal Licence for Pointe du Bois Generating Station within the term of the next STEL.

Manitoba Hydro continues to operate the Pointe du Bois Generating Station in compliance with the third STEL. Ongoing compliance with the licence is documented in our Annual Water Levels and Flows Report.

If you have any questions about this matter, please call me at 204-360-3018.

Yours truly,

W.V. Penner, P.Eng Manager, Waterway Approvals and Monitoring Department

WVP/kmm/00102-07311-0025\_00.docx

Ms. Agnes Wittmann 2023 12 21 Page 2

## **DISTRIBUTION LIST**

Chief & Council, Black River First Nation Box 190 O'Hanley, MB ROE 2E0

Chief & Council, Brokenhead Ojibway Nation P.O. Box 180 Scanterbury, MB R0C 1W0

Chief & Council, Hollow Water First Nation Box 2561 Wanipigow, MB R0E 2E0

President, Manitoba Metis Federation 300-150 Henry Avenue Winnipeg, MB R3B 0J7

Chief & Council, Peguis First Nation Box 10 Peguis Reserve, MB R0C 3J0

Chief & Council, Sagkeeng First Nation Box 3 Fort Alexander, MB R0E 2E0

Mayor & Council, Aghaming Community Council Box 2564 Wanipigow, MB R0E 2E0

Mayor & Council, Manigotagan Community Council General Delivery Manigotagan, MB R0E 1E0

Mayor & Council, Incorporated Community of Seymourville Box 2568 Wanipigow, MB R0E 2E0

Mayor & Council, Bissett Community Council Box 30 Bissett, MB R0E 0J0