Header Side Menu Content Footer
Government of Manitoba
Federal-Provincial & International Relations

Forms of Address

Here are the forms of address to follow when one is writing to the following provincial dignitaries:

Lieutenant Governor:

His Honour, The Honourable Philip S. Lee, C.M., O.M.
Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba
Salutation: Your Honour:
Final Salutation: Yours sincerely,

*The Lieutenant Governor of  a province has the title The Honourable for life.
* The courtesy title His Honour is used only while in office.

Lieutenant Governor's Spouse (Chatelaine):

Her Honour Anita Lee
Salutation: Dear Mrs. Lee
Final Salutation: Yours sincerely,

Lieutenant Governor and Spouse:

His Honour, The Honourable Philip S. Lee, C.M., O.M. and Her Honour Anita Lee
Salutation: Your Honours:
Final Salutation: Yours sincerely,


The Honourable Greg Selinger
Premier of Manitoba
Salutation: Dear Premier:
Final Salutation: Yours sincerely,

* The title "The Honourable" is used only while in office, unless he or she is a member of the Privy Council.
* Ed Schreyer, being a former Governor General, retains the title The Right Honourable.
* Howard Pawley, Sterling Lyon and Gary Filmon retain the title of The Honourable because they are members of the Privy Council.

Provincial Cabinet Ministers:

Honourable (full name)
Minister of (department name)
Salutation: Dear Minister:
Final Salutation: Yours sincerely, 

* A provincial cabinet minister does not retain the title Honourable after tenure of office unless he or she is a member of the Queen's Privy Council.

Provincial Members of the Legislative Assembly:

Mr./Mrs./Ms./Miss (full name), M.L.A.
Name of Constituency
Salutation: Dear Mr./Mrs./Ms./Miss (name):
Final Salutation: Yours sincerely,

*Jon Gerrard, MLA for River Heights retains the title Honourable and uses the initials "P.C." after his name because he is a member of the Queen's Privy Council because he was a former federal cabinet minister.

More information on titles and forms of address is available through the federal department of Canadian Heritage.

Share This