

Watershed Districts Boards

Members:

Mike Shenderevich, Assiniboine West Watershed District ^ Ted Snure, Central Assiniboine Watershed District ^ Jim Hardy, East Interlake Watershed District ^ Peter Gulak, Inter-Mountain Watershed District ^ Connie Wyatt Anderson, Kelsey Watershed District ^ Jake Goertzen, Pembina Valley Watershed District ^ Verner Johnson, Northeast Red Watershed District ^ Mark Lowdon, Redboine Watershed District ^ Les Schewe, Seine Rat Roseau Watershed District ^ Henry Murkin, Souris River Watershed District ^ Kelly Filipchuck, Swan Lake Watershed District ^ David Senkowski, Westlake Watershed District ^ Jack Cruise, West Interlake Watershed District ^

^ Government Representative

Mandate:

The Watershed Districts Program is a partnership between the province and participating municipalities to promote the sustainable use and management of water and related activities on a watershed basis. On January 1, 2020, The Watershed Districts Act was proclaimed making significant changes to the former Conservation District Program and shifting the 18 conservation districts to 14 watershed districts on watershed-based boundaries.

Authority:

<u>The Watershed Districts Act (W 95)</u> Regulation (MR 141/19)

Responsibilities:

The board of a watershed district is responsible for managing the affairs of the watershed district in accordance with the Act that it is governed by, and for that purpose may:

- A. study and investigate, or cause to be studied and investigated, such resources of the watershed district as may be necessary to prepare a scheme;
- B. develop and with written approval of the scheme from the minister implement the scheme;
- C. transfer its jurisdiction, authority or control over any of its works to an included municipality or other person so that the municipality or person maintains or operates the works; and

D. require the municipality to provide to the board information pertinent to a scheme.

A board may, by by-law, establish one or more standing committees as it considers necessary.

Membership:

14 Members appointed by the Minister. Each member will represent 1 of the 14 Watershed Districts. Chair is elected by each board annually

Length of Terms:

No Fixed Terms (10 year max)

Members may be reappointed, and continue to serve until reappointed, replaced or revoked.

Desirable Experience:

- members must be ratepayers and/or councilors of the watershed district
- members must have general knowledge of the watershed issues.
- must be able to communicate verbally and have the ability to ask questions using open ended, non-judgmental language;
- have active listening skills;
- use plain language;
- adhere to a high degree of confidentiality; and
- basic technology skill.

Time Commitment:

Special meetings may be held within 30 days of the chair receiving a written request to do so from the minister or at least 1/3rd of the board members and the notice of a special meeting must specify the matters to be considered at the meeting. No other matters may be considered at the meeting.

Meetings:

Frequency:	Required by legislation to meet quarterly at a minimum
Location:	Watershed Districts

Remuneration:

As determined in board by-laws. Civil servants or members who are in the regular employment of a municipality do not receive remuneration.