

Automobile Injury Compensation Appeal Commission

IN THE MATTER OF an Appeal by [the Appellant]

AICAC File No.: AC-05-27

PANEL: Ms Yvonne Tavares

APPEARANCES: The Appellant, [text deleted] was not present at the appeal

hearing;

Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation ('MPIC') was

represented by Mr. Dean Scaletta.

HEARING DATE: April 23, 2009

ISSUE(S): Entitlement to Permanent Impairment Benefits

RELEVANT SECTIONS: Sections 127 and 129 of The Manitoba Public Insurance

Corporation Act ('MPIC Act')

AICAC NOTE: THIS DECISION HAS BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT THE APPELLANT'S PRIVACY AND TO KEEP PERSONAL INFORMATION CONFIDENTIAL. REFERENCES TO THE APPELLANT'S PERSONAL HEALTH INFORMATION AND OTHER PERSONAL IDENTIFYING INFORMATION HAVE BEEN REMOVED.

Reasons For Decision

The Appellant, [text deleted], is appealing the Internal Review Decision dated November 23, 2004, with regards to her entitlement to permanent impairment benefits. The appeal hearing was held on April 23, 2009 commencing at 9:30 a.m. The Appellant did not attend the hearing or provide any written submissions to the Commission in support of her appeal.

At the outset of the hearing, it was determined that the Appellant had received notice of the hearing by virtue of her signature claiming the Xpresspost letter (containing the Notice of 2

Hearing from the Commission) from Canada Post. As a result, the Commission proceeded with

the hearing of the appeal.

Upon a consideration of the totality of the evidence before it, the Commission finds that the

Appellant has not established, on a balance of probabilities, that she is entitled to a permanent

impairment benefit for either her neck, or her right shoulder. The Commission finds that the

medical evidence on the Appellant's file does not establish an entitlement to a permanent

impairment benefit for either the neck, or the right shoulder.

As a result, the Appellant's appeal is dismissed and the Internal Review Decision dated

November 23, 2004 is confirmed.

Dated at Winnipeg this 27th day of April, 2009.

YVONNE TAVARES