Green Team

Manitoba Conservation & Climate recognizes the importance of young people finding summer employment to gain valuable work experience and to help them save for their future schooling and other opportunities.  The department is proud to continue the long tradition of the Green Team program. The Green Team is all about giving young Manitobans the opportunity to work outdoors in our wonderful Provincial Parks  and contributing in a meaningful way to conserving the natural world we all get to enjoy.

Who Is Eligible?
Manitoba Conservation and Climate’s Green Team program is intended for Manitoba youth, aged 16 to 29 to work in Provincial Parks and offices throughout Manitoba.

What Kind of Work is it?
Jobs vary from park maintenance to resource management to tourism. Youth may work on general park maintenance (such as painting, grass trimming, cleaning campsites and beaches) and park interpretive programming, wildlife, and environmental projects or general office assistance.

What Skills Are Needed?
We look for youth that show a strong initiative and an eagerness to work and learn. The ability to work independently and in a team setting, and having good organizational skills is essential.  Youth that have some previous experience at home, school or previous employment/volunteer work is a strong asset. 

Youth looking for jobs with park maintenance should have some previous experience with yard work, painting and janitorial tasks, and be comfortable with push mowers, trimmers, and using hand tools.

Youth looking for jobs with Park Interpreters should be comfortable with public speaking, interacting with people of all ages, and show a strong interest or have some background knowledge in local plants, wildlife, culture/history and park features.

How Long Will the Work Last?
Manitoba Conservation and Climate’s Green Team students are hired for 8 weeks (July 5 - August 27, 2021) or 14 weeks (May 25 - August 27, 2021) in two categories: Basic Skills Worker or Lead Hand or Semi-Skilled Worker. - Wages, weeks and number of positions available in each park are dependent upon final program approval.

To Apply:

There are a number of convenient ways to apply:

Email
Fill out the online application.
Once completed, save the application and email the application along with your resume to ParksGreenTeam@gov.mb.ca. Your application will be forwarded to the appropriate park office(s) based on the preferred work location(s) you indicate on the application.

Mail
Fill out an online application. You can also print the application and fill out by hand.

Once completed, print and mail your application and resume to the park office responsible for the park you are interested in using the contact list below.

In Person
Due to COVID-19, park offices are closed to walk-up traffic. If you wish to pick up an application or drop off an application at an office, please contact the appropriate office number using the list below to make an appointment.

Applications may also be dropped off at Parks and Protected Spaces head office located at 200 Saulteaux in Winnipeg. Envelopes must be addressed to Parks and Protected Spaces, Box 53, 200 Saulteaux Crescent, Winnipeg, MB  R3J 3W3.

If you have any questions about individual Green Team positions, please contact the appropriate park office using the contact list below.

Park Office Contact Information

District

Parks

Mailing Address

Email

Phone

Northwest

Bakers Narrows
Clearwater Lake
Grass River
Wekusko

Room 203, 143 Main St.
Flin Flon, MB.  R8A 1K2

Richard.Dean@gov.mb.ca

204-271-4537

Northeast

Paint Lake

Box 28, 59 Elizabeth Drive
Thompson, MB.  R8N 1X4

Linda.Horner@gov.mb.ca

204-677-7342

Lac du Bonnet

Nopiming

Box 850
Lac du Bonnet, MB.  R0E 1A0

Brad.Kiedyk@gov.mb.ca

204-345-1405

Steinbach

St Malo,
Moose Lake

Unit B 284 Reimer Ave
Steinbach, MB.  R5G 0R5

William.Prevost@gov.mb.ca

204-346-6061

North Whiteshell

North Whiteshell (Rennie & Seven Sisters)

Box 130
Rennie, MB.  R0E 2G0

Greg.Legall@gov.mb.ca

204-348-4006

South Whiteshell

South Whiteshell (West Hawk & Falcon)

Box 40
Falcon Lake, MB.  R0E 0N0

Keith.Hood@gov.mb.ca

204-349-6015

Spruce Woods

Spruce Woods

Box 900 
Carberry, MB.  R0K 0H0

Darlene.Lamoureux@gov.mb.ca

204-570-2134

Parkland

Asessippi,
Rainbow Beach,
Manipogo

Box 10
Dauphin, MB.  R7N 3E5

Kim.Duncan@gov.mb.ca

204-648-7011

Turtle Mountain

Turtle Mountain, Rivers

Box 820
Boissevain, MB.  R0K 0E0

James.Lockie@gov.mb.ca

204-305-0222

Mountain

Duck Mountain, North Steeprock,
Whitefish Lake

Box 640
Swan River, MB.  R0L 1Z0

David.Simard@gov.mb.ca

204-734-3429

Winnipeg 

Beaudry,  St. Norbert, Lundar, Watchorn, Stephenfield, Portage Spillway

Box 30 - 200 Saulteaux Crescent
Winnipeg, MB.  R3J 3W3

Lisa.Meyers@gov.mb.ca

204-805-2171

Birds Hill

Birds Hill,
River Road

68092 PR 206
Cooks Creek, MB.  R5M 0C9

Lindsey.Mitton@gov.mb.ca

204-654-6730

Winnipeg Beach

Camp Morton, Hnausa,
Winnipeg Beach

Box 388
Winnipeg Beach, MB.  R0C 3G0

Clinton.Yaremkiewich@gov.mb.ca

204-391-0636

Grand Beach

Grand Beach

Box 220
Grand Marais, MB. R0E 0T0

Mark.Sinclair@gov.mb.ca

204-754-7143

Riverton

Hecla/Grindstone

Box 70
Riverton, MB.  R0C 2R0

Sandra.Davies@gov.mb.ca

204-378-2261